2021-2022 West End Kindergarten School Calendar

August 2-6 (Monday-Friday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Preparation Days for Opening School
August 2 (Monday)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Parent-Only Orientation 6:30 p.m.
August 9 (Monday) . . . .Staggered Attendance Week for All Classes (no early or after school care)
August 16 (Monday)   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . normal schedule (early or after school care available)
September 6 (Monday)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . LABOR DAY – No School
October 11-15 (Monday-Friday).  . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . FALL Holiday – No School
November 2 (Tuesday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  In-service Day—No School
November 24-26 (Wednesday-Friday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Thanksgiving Holidays – No School
December 16 (Thursday). Last December After School Care Day
(December day care charges due by 6:00 p.m.)
December 17 (Friday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  All students dismiss 11:30 a.m. No after-school care.
December 20 – December 31 (10 days) . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . .Winter Holidays – No School
January 3 (Monday) . . . . . . .  .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . In-service Day – No School
January 4 (Tuesday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . First Day Back
January 17 (Monday)           . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – No School
February 21 (Monday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .President’s Day – No School
March 14-18 (Monday-Friday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Spring Holidays – No School
April 15 (Friday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Good Friday – No School
April 18 (Monday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Holiday – No School
May 3 (Tuesday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .In-Service – No School
May 18 (Tuesday Evening)  . . .  Tentative Graduation Program for 3s, 4s and Kindergarten
May 24 (Tuesday) . . . . . . . Last May After School Care Day
(May day care charges due by 6:00 p.m.)
May 25(Wednesday) Last Day of School--Students dismiss 11:30 a.m. No after-school care.
May 31 – July 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .WEK Summer Program (Registration Required)

Note:  West End will follow the Knox County School’s closing for Inclement Weather.

  • When Knox County is closed, West End will also be closed.  Please listen to radio or TV announcements regarding weather closings.
  • When Knox County operates on a snow schedule or delay, West End will follow the same snow or delay schedule.  However, there will be no early care.
  • When Knox County Schools close early for weather conditions, West End Day Care closes also.
When Knox County Schools close early for weather conditions, West End Day Care closes also.


8301 E. Walker Springs Lane • Knoxville, TN 37923 • (865) 690-0900