2017-2018 West End Kindergarten School Calendar

July 31-August 4 (Monday-Friday) . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . Preparation Days for Opening School
August 1 (Tuesday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . Parent Orientation 6:30 p.m.
August 7 (Monday) . . . .  . Staggered Attendance Week for All Classes (no early or after school care)
August 14 (Monday)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Early Care and After School Care Begins
August 21(Monday) . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . .. . .  .Solar Eclipse (Inclement Weather Day) – No School
September 4 (Monday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . .  . LABOR DAY – No School
September 25 (Monday)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Open House (tentative date)
October 9-13 (Monday-Friday).  . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . FALL Holiday – No School
November 7 (Tuesday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . In-service Day—No School
November 22-24 (Wednesday-Friday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Thanksgiving Holidays – No School
December 20 (Wednesday)  . . .  . . . . . . . . All students dismiss 11:30 a.m. No after-school care
December 21 – January 5 (12 days) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Winter Holidays – No School
January 8 (Monday) . . . . . . .  .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . In-service Day – No School
January 9 (Tuesday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . .  . . . . . . First Day Back
January 15 (Monday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – No School
February 19 (Monday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    President’s Day – No School
March 12-16 (Monday-Friday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Spring Holidays – No School
March 30 (Friday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. .  . . . Good Friday – No School
April 2 (Monday) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . .In-Service – No School
May 22 (Tuesday Evening)  . . .  . . . . Graduation Program for 3s, 4s and Kindergarten 7:00 p.m.
May 23 (Wednesday) Last Day of School--All students dismiss 11:30 a.m.  No after-school care.



Note:  West End will follow the Knox County School’s closing for Inclement Weather.

  • When Knox County is closed, West End will also be closed.  Please listen to radio or TV announcements regarding weather closings.

  • When Knox County operates on a snow schedule or delay, West End will follow the same snow or delay schedule.  However, there will be no early care.
When Knox County Schools close early for weather conditions, West End Day Care closes also.


8301 E. Walker Springs Lane • Knoxville, TN 37923 • (865) 690-0900